Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster announce award shortlist

BECBC Awards judging panel: Joanne Chambers, John Grainger, Tracy Stainton and Fred Sheil.
BECBC Awards judging panel: Joanne Chambers, John Grainger, Tracy Stainton and Fred Sheil.
Monday, July 17, 2017 at 11:26AM

Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster (BECBC) has announced the shortlists for its Business Awards 2017.

The organisation has also announced that Carlisle-based firm Carr’s Engineering is the main event sponsor.

The shortlists feature 13 different businesses in six categories, sponsored by other BECBC member companies and organisations.

John Grainger, stakeholder relations director for BECBC, chaired a panel of shortlisting judges made up of Fred Sheil of Fred Sheil Consulting, Joanne Chambers of Lakeland Capabilities and Tracy Stainton of Burnetts Solicitors.

He said: “The judges were presented with plenty of high calibre submissions and it was a tough job shorlisting them.

"It has certainly worked well to include the new Micro Business of the Year category and it’s good to see three of last year’s winners, the University of Cumbria, Nuvia and NIS Limited sponsoring this year’s awards. I’d like to congratulate everyone on their work so far and wish them the very best of luck in the final judging.”

Two categories are still to be announced with nominations for the business innovation category being run along different lines and a shortlist for businessperson of the year to be announced in August with voting by Business Cluster members in the Autumn. Judging will take place over the summer with judges visiting the shortlisted companies and talking to entrants to find the winner in each category.

Winners will be announced at a dinner at Energus on Thursday, November 23

“The Business Awards have grown and evolved and this is the first year that we’ve made them an annual event,” said Alison Johnston of Dodd & Co Accountants and a member of the BECBC Board.

“It’s great to see some relatively recent members among those shortlisted and several dynamic younger companies too. They may not all be familiar names but that’s part of the purpose of the Business Awards – celebrating successes and showcasing the best of Cumbrian business.”


Socio Economic Commitment to West Cumbria: Kaefer, Morgan Sindall Construction and Infrastructure, Nuvia.

Inspiring People: Blue Shadow Marketing, Energus, Hargreaves Ductwork.

Growing Business: Adamedia Limited, Prima Uno Limited, QG Management Standards and Indelible Data (joint entry).

Micro-business of the Year: Adamedia Limited, Blue Shadow Marketing, Flame Concepts.

SME of the Year: Energus, Grisdales Estate Agents, Prima Uno Limited.

Large Business of the Year: Balfour Beatty, Kaefer, Morgan Sindall Construction and Infrastructure, TSP Engineering


Comment on this article

Generate a new code
Comments not OK? Click here to let us know
More articles...